Loading...
Loading...
Both products assess trading-card photos with AI. CardGrade emphasizes PSA, BGS, and CGC prediction estimates; Card Boss publishes a digital grade built from four subgrades, plus a digital slab and detailed report.
Competitor facts verified from first-party sources on .
Choose CardGrade if you want PSA, BGS, and CGC estimates, a 47-check condition map, marketplace-listing analysis, or eligible Forensic and API workflows. Choose Card Boss if its iOS/Android capture, four-subgrade digital grade, downloadable digital slab, unique card ID, and paid card packs fit your collection workflow. Public evidence does not justify calling either one universally more accurate.
This table reports what each company currently publishes. It does not turn marketing claims into independent performance findings.
| Category | CardGrade | Card Boss |
|---|---|---|
| Primary output | Photo-based PSA, BGS, and CGC prediction estimates with a visible-condition breakdown. | Card Boss says its patented AI assigns an overall grade from four subgrades: edges, corners, surface, and centering. |
| Report artifact | Downloadable report with condition details, confidence indicators, and a market-value estimate when available. | Downloadable digital slab and detailed report, plus a unique card ID tied to the grade. |
| Capture workflow | One full-card photo for Intelligence Grade; eight app-based macro close-ups for Forensic Capture. | Front-and-back mobile photos on a black background; Card Boss asks users to remove safely removable covers before capture. |
| Platforms | iOS and Android apps, a web workflow, and a Chrome extension for eBay, COMC, and TCGplayer listings. | Card Boss publishes iOS and Android app availability. |
| Published timing | About 60 seconds for the standard photo pre-screen. | Card Boss advertises grades within minutes on its homepage and FAQ; actual timing can vary. |
| Published starting cost | Subscriptions start at $4.99/month; one-time credit packs are also listed. | Its membership page lists $9.99 for one card, $9.99 for 2-card Starter, $14.99 for 4-card Pro, and $19.99 for 7-card Premium access. |
| Higher-volume workflow | Batch tools and a documented REST API are available through eligible workflows and plans. | Published membership options include lower additional-card rates at higher counts; the public pages reviewed do not describe a multi-card upload tool. |
| Professional grading status | A photo-based pre-screen; it does not authenticate, encapsulate, or issue an official PSA, BGS, or CGC grade. | Card Boss describes its result as a preliminary digital assessment rather than a replacement for an official physical grade. |
Prices, pack sizes, app access, and processing times can change. Check each provider's current product and pricing pages before purchasing.
CardGrade is built around the next submission decision: it returns photo-based PSA, BGS, and CGC prediction estimates with a visible-condition breakdown. Card Boss publishes an overall digital grade derived from four subgrades—edges, corners, surface, and centering. Neither output is an official grade from a physical grading company.
CardGrade provides a downloadable condition report with confidence indicators and market-value context. Card Boss says users can download a digital slab and detailed report, and that a unique card ID keeps the grade associated with that digital record. The useful distinction is not report versus no report; it is whether you want multi-company submission estimates or a Card Boss digital-grade record.
Card Boss instructs users to photograph the front and back on a black background in its iOS or Android app. Its homepage and FAQ advertise grades within minutes. CardGrade's standard photo pre-screen is designed to return in about 60 seconds, while eligible app users can add eight corner macro images through Forensic Capture. In either workflow, blur, glare, angle, and hidden defects limit what the software can evaluate.
The Card Boss membership page reviewed for this update does not show an unlimited basic free tier. It lists $9.99 Single Card, $9.99 Starter for two cards, $14.99 Pro for four, and $19.99 Premium for seven, with additional-card rates that decline at higher counts. The page labels each option “Subscribe” but does not state the billing interval in the public copy, so confirm the checkout terms. CardGrade lists subscriptions from $4.99 per month plus one-time credit packs.
We found no independently audited, same-card head-to-head study on the official pages reviewed for this update. A responsible comparison therefore cannot claim that CardGrade or Card Boss is categorically more accurate. Test the same clear card images, compare the condition reasoning, and confirm important defects on the physical card before spending on a submission or purchase.
Photo-based tools can miss authentication issues, alterations, texture, hidden dents, bends, or defects obscured by glare and blur. Remove only safely removable sleeves, top loaders, or one-touches when capture guidance calls for a bare card. Never crack a professional slab for an AI photo pre-screen, and never treat an estimate as a guaranteed grade or value.
CardGrade centers its report on visible-condition evidence and PSA, BGS, and CGC prediction estimates. Card Boss publishes an overall digital grade based on edges, corners, surface, and centering, with a digital slab, detailed report, and unique card ID. Both are photo-based assessments rather than official physical grading services.
There is not enough public, independently audited head-to-head evidence to declare either product more accurate. Use the same clear front-and-back images when testing tools, compare their reasoning, and inspect the physical card before making a costly decision.
As verified on August 9, 2026, Card Boss publishes membership options rather than an unlimited basic free tier: $9.99 for Single Card, $9.99 for two-card Starter, $14.99 for four-card Pro, and $19.99 for seven-card Premium. The page labels the choices Subscribe but does not state the billing interval in its public copy, so confirm the current checkout terms.
Card Boss says its patented AI evaluates edges, corners, surface, and centering, then provides an overall grade. Its official workflow also describes a downloadable digital slab, a detailed report, and a unique card ID associated with the grade.
Yes. Both companies publish iOS and Android app availability. CardGrade also offers a web workflow and a Chrome extension for evaluating card images from eBay, COMC, and TCGplayer listings.
CardGrade may fit a higher-volume workflow that needs eligible batch tools, a documented REST API, or analysis from external marketplace listings. Card Boss publishes membership options with lower additional-card rates at higher counts, but the public pages reviewed do not describe a multi-card upload workflow.
No. These tools estimate visible condition from supplied photos. They do not physically authenticate or encapsulate a card, and they cannot guarantee the grade a professional grading company will assign after an in-hand inspection.
Verified
CardGrade publishes this comparison. Card Boss descriptions come from Card Boss's own product pages and are reported as company claims, not independent validation.
Used for: capture modes, 47 checks, prediction outputs, timing, and photo-based limits.
Used for: current subscriptions and one-time credit options.
Used for: eBay, COMC, and TCGplayer listing workflow.
Used for: patented-AI positioning, mobile workflow, and grades-within-minutes claim.
Used for: front-and-back capture, four subgrades, digital slab, detailed report, and unique card ID.
Used for: published membership options, included card counts, and higher-count additional-card pricing.
Used for: iOS and Android workflow, capture guidance, and preliminary-assessment limits.
Start with clear front-and-back images, read the condition reasoning, then confirm important defects on the physical card before deciding whether to submit.